Parking habits of a disturbed student

April 4, 2007 at 6:55 pm (Uncategorized)

Parking at the university is the highlight of my day. Yes, you read me correctly, and yes, I did forget to take my medication this morning. Sanity is overrated, trust me. Typically, the “sane” person will lapse into fits of rage or panic attacks when it comes to finding a decent parking spot somewhere relatively near the university.

I have seen perfectly “normal” college students turn into demon possessed drivers, braking for no one and cutting off old ladies like nobody’s business. As they drive around and around, hoping that someone will leave, they begin to froth at the mouth and steam at the ears. Now tell me this is not entertaining to watch.

I drive around slowly, munching on a pop tart, giggling softly to myself as I watch the madness develop around me. So many cars. Where could they all have possibly come from? It is as though a black hole opened up on 28th street and several thousand transfer students from Uranus (or mine) decided not to skip class (which is unusual, considering attendance policies have never been strictly enforced at non-earth schools).

You might interject, “Hey, um, scientifically, there is not way a black hole could have ‘opened up’ on earth,” but this is my fantasy world; hence, my rules apply – and I say black holes can open up on earth. I mean, come on, don’t tell me you haven’t seen your share of strange-looking characters on campus.

Anyway, wherever these cars are coming from, it is exciting to watch. Just looking out over my dashboard to see a line of cars longer than my list of parking violations fills me with joy unspeakable. There is nothing quite like the peaceful blaring of horns or the content squealing of tires.

I especially love it when the entire university decides to utilize the crosswalk at the same time. People are so interesting to watch, especially the ones who cross slowly enough to make a turtle jealous.

What a thrill it is to painstakingly circle every parking lot within a two mile radius, pausing every three seconds for a car or person. Furthermore, when I have finally found that coveted spot, I am overwhelmed with disappointment, for the best part of the day has come to an end, and I traipse off to class, cackling maniacally in anticipation of doing it all again the next day.

Leave a comment